Spiritual Sunday

happiness

I hope you have all had a great weekend and are enjoying this weather!  I have done a lot of “blogstorming” lately and am trying to come up with a consistent schedule for posting and exactly what it is that I will be focusing on.  While I love beauty and fashion posts, I like to concentrate more on lifestyle and bettering myself spiritually and mentally, from the inside.  Today I’m calling it #spiritualsunday.

I subscribe to Mind, Body, Green which is a website about your health and posts articles giving you tips and ideas for ways to better your life and inspire you to live a happy and fulfilled.  I recently read an article titled So I’m Single, 40 and Childless…Now What? While I am not 40, this article really hit home for me because I am single and do not have any children.  I am in my 30’s and when I was younger I wished for nothing more than to be a mom.  While that has obviously not happened, that does not mean that I am unhappy with my life.  I truly do believe that everything happens for a reason and that God knows our path and puts us exactly where we need to be.

I struggled for well over a year to figure out my purpose in life and while I have yet to find my true passion, I have become more comfortable in my own skin and I am perfectly happy with my current situation.  Looking back on the last few years and what I thought I wanted out of life, I realize that I don’t want/need the things that I thought I needed back then.  Right now I am content with the fact that I do not have children and that my life is the way it is.  Being single, I often get asked/told,  “Why are you still single?” , “You’re too picky”,   “Don’t you want to have a family of your own?”, “You have to have kids.”  I don’t know if any of you that are reading this are in the same boat as me, but does that not get annoying?  Can’t I be happy being single?  Who said every person in this world needs to grow up, get a job, get married and have children?  I am not a traditional person and do not follow that type of thinking, but there is nowhere that says I HAVE to do that or my life is not complete.

I am in no way saying that those people out there that do have children and/or are married do not lead a happy life because I am sure they do and I know many that are very happy.  But that is not my current life situation so for all intents and purposes, that’s the direction my mind goes.

I encourage you to read the article because she explains that there are so many wonderful things that we can do/have in life when we are single and do not have children; such as traveling, financial security and traveling.  I also encourage you to check out Mind Body Green for some helpful tools on improving and inspiring your life.

Leave a Reply

