Spiritual Sunday – Search For Significance

search

Happy #SpiritualSunday readers!  Today I have opted for more of a personal post about a hard time in my life and something that came out of it.  It helped me and if it helps even one person then I will feel like I have made a difference.

I went through a divorce about a year ago and after that I never felt more lost in my life.  I felt like I didn’t know who I was or what my purpose was on this Earth.  I was three hours away from my family and felt completely alone.  My aunt that lives in North Carolina invited me down to stay with her for a week so I made the drive to get away from my reality here and to see my family that I don’t get to see very often.  I hinted in some of my posts on my old blog page that the trip I made there was truly an eye opening experience and made me look at life in a completely different way; a positive way.  I can’t even tell you exactly what it was that changed me but I really believe that it was God’s doing.  While I was there we visited some quaint restaurants, drove the Blue Ridge Parkway, saw some gorgeous waterfalls, had an absolutely fabulous day at The Omni Grove Park Inn Spa, climbed the mountains and took in the most breathtaking views I’ve ever seen.  But the one trip that sticks out the most was the day we went to The Biltmore Estates.  I had been wanting to visit that place for a long time, ever since I took Art History in college.  I could have walked around those grounds for hours.

OK, I’m getting off topic here( I’ll post some pictures from my trip below)…during this trip my aunt told me that she had ordered a book for me that helped her and that she thought would be helpful for me.  The book is called The Search for Significance by Robert S. McGee.  (The cover image is above.)  By changing our thoughts, we can change a lot in our lives.  Our thoughts are a very powerful tool.  Positive thoughts bring positive outcomes.  This book also came with a workbook that helped me put a lot of what I learned and read down on paper and enabled me to actually change how I thought about things.  I used to think that when bad things happened to me, it was as a punishment for something and that the world and people were against me and had such a negative attitude. But after that trip and reading that book, I have changed my way of thinking and focus on the positives in my life and to be blessed for what I already have.  Someone always has it worse and I need to be grateful for what is already in my life.  I’m not focusing so much on trying to make things happen the way I want them, but I am enjoying life as it comes and not trying so hard to force things to happen.  Life is so short and I don’t want to spend it being unhappy or wishing things were different.  If you get a chance to read this book, let me know what you think of it or if you have already read this book I would love to get your thoughts.

trip trip2 trip3 trip4 trip5 trip6 trip7 trip8 trip9 trip10 tripe

Leave a Reply

