Dream Home

Recently, I have been brainstorming and surfing Pinterest and pinning to my Home Sweet Home board and just going crazy on designing/decorating my dream home.  I keep a small notebook for blog ideas, but I also have another notebook for lists and things that I want to purchase someday and that notebook is filling up fast.  I had already started the process of going back to graduate school to get my MBA, but lately I have been thinking if maybe I would be happier with a job in some kind of interior designing or decorating. I am fascinated by all of the different design styles there are and just seeing the history of design.   As I mentioned in my previous Design Style post, check it out here, my tastes have changed from modern/contemporary style to a combination of french country / rustic farmhouse.  I have come up with a list of what I want in my dream house…

  1. Shiplap walls –  These are so cool and the look of the exposed wood just adds so much character to a neutral color scheme; which brings me to item 2 on my list…(Source) shiplap1
  2. Neutrals – I love the simplicity of whites, creams and exposed wood accents in a space and what better wood accent than a shiplap wall. (Source of left photo  & of right photo)neutralsfrenchcountry
  3. Farmhouse sink – A must for my kitchen is a farmhouse sink.  (Source of photo.)        farmhousesink
  4. Annie Sloan Paint – No DIY project for a rustic, french country look can be complete without Annie Sloan Chalk Paint.  Luckily, for me, they sell it where I live!!  My favorite colors are Paris Grey, Old White and French Linen.  My current project is to find an old dresser that I can repurpose and repaint to use as a t.v. stand. (I smell a D.I.Y. project coming soon.) (Source )               anniesloan
  5. Outdoor Space – I love spending my evenings outside reading a book or spending my mornings on the weekends drinking my coffee outside.  An outdoor space for entertaining and relaxing is high on my list. (Source of photo.)outdoor

Besides Pinterest, I have a few blogs that I love to browse along with Country Living magazine.  If you haven’t checked out these blogs, head on over to them and check out their design style.

Joanna Gaines from Fixer Upper (my favorite designer) – http://magnoliahomes.net/blog/

A House And A Dog – http://www.ahouseandadog.com/

Whimsy Girl – http://whimsygirldesign.blogspot.com/

Shanty 2 Chic – http://www.shanty-2-chic.com/

The Other Side of Neutral – http://www.theothersideofneutral.com/

Leave a Reply

